Governor general literary awards past winners

8.49  ·  4,856 ratings  ·  435 reviews
governor general literary awards past winners

Governor Generals Literary Awards / Prix litteraires du Gouverneur general Winners

Each year, the Canada Council for the Arts and the Governor General of Canada collaborate to honour the finest in Canadian literature.

The categories are: fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, children’s literature (text and illustration) and translation.


Chaque annee, le Conseil des Arts du Canada et le Gouverneur general du Canada ?uvrent ensemble pour rendre hommage a lexcellence de la litterature canadienne.

Des prix sont accordes dans les categories suivantes : romans et nouvelles, etudes et essais, poesie, theatre, litterature jeunesse (texte et illustrations) et traduction.
File Name: governor general literary awards past
Size: 63846 Kb
Published 04.12.2018

Celebrating The 2013 Governor General's Literary Award Winners

The Governor General's Literary Awards (GGBooks) celebrates Canada's best Drama. Botticelli in the Fire & Sunday in Sodom by Jordan Tannahill Winner.
Jillian Tamaki

Winners of 2008 Governor General's Literary Awards Announced

Signing up enhances your TCE experience with the ability to save items to your personal reading list, and access the interactive map. Also that year, the category of juvenile literature, which had been established in but was not awarded until , was dropped. New categories have also been added over the years, specifically separate categories for children's literature — text, children's literature — illustration, and translation, all of which were introduced in Until , the prizes were presented the year after the award year e. Beginning in , ceremonies were held in the award year itself. Like any prize, the Governor General's Awards have proven to be controversial from time to time. Contemporary judgements do not always stand the test of time, and there is a general complaint that writers have not always won for their best work.

As the leaves continue their annual turn into brilliant autumn foliage, we, too, continue our literary awards blog series. Check out the other posts. Here are the finalists for the English Fiction category. As the prize is fantastically extensive in scope, we'll limit ourselves to examining the effects of the prize on the English Fiction category. Winners of the English Fiction category over the past five years have sold very well following the prize announcement, although it's hard to gauge a direct correlation since the prize is announced in the middle of the award season. An educated guess suggests that the more prizes a book wins around the holidays, the better it's likely to sell.

Our Best Books

The awards were initially administered by the CAA and were presented for the best works in English or French-to-English translation in fiction , general literature, and poetry. When responsibility for the award was transferred to the Canada Council for the Arts, in , analogous prizes for works in French were added. Authors were required to hold Canadian citizenship or permanent residency. The winners in each category were determined by committees of writers and critics. Recent scholarship has suggested that a number of winning volumes were mistakenly omitted from the official list of winners because of record-keeping errors. Though the awards were originally presented without a monetary prize, increasing sums of money were later added. Unusually, finalists in each category were awarded lesser sums, and the publishers of the winning volumes received funding for promotion.


  1. Grace S. says:

    Navigation menu

  2. Kiycolydscha1955 says:

    Governor General's Literary Awards

  3. Kate H. says:

    See the list of all past winners and finalists of the Governor General's Literary French authors could receive the award if their work had been translated and.

  4. Libby G. says:

    Physical courage in to kill a mockingbird norton anthology of theory and criticism 2nd edition pdf

  5. Kristian P. says:

    Winners of the Governor General’s Literary Award (English)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *